FREE Shipping on orders over $60 | 25% off all items | 30% off orders over $1000 | 35% off orders over $2500

Akata Witch

by Nnedi Okorafor
| Item # Q8420
Akata Witch Q8420
Format: Paperback
$10.99 $8.24 Save $2.75
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ

Description

"Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do. Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she's finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs? World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called "stunning" by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more Raves for Nnedi Okorafor's writing: "There's more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor's work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics." --Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea "The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read " --Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak "I always loved science fiction, but I didn't feel I was part of it--until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor." --Whoopi Goldberg "Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full

Product Information

  • AR Level4.2
  • AR Quiz Number143032
  • AR Quiz Points10
  • AuthorNnedi Okorafor
  • Page Count384
  • ISBN100142420913
  • ISBN139780142420911
  • PublisherPenguin Random House
  • Year Published2017
  • Grade Level7
  • Type of BookFiction
  • SubjectFantasy & magical realism (Children's/YA)
    General fiction (Children's/YA)
    General fiction (Children's/YA)
    Crime & mystery
    General fiction (Children's/YA)
  • ImprintSpeak

This book is part of these Book Collections

Our school reading collections supply a comprehensive assortment of titles that are perfect for adding depth to classrooms and school libraries.

New Title Highlights 2018 - Collection
D1412 | 20 Books
$186.60 Details
New Title Highlights 2018 - Collection
D1412 | 20 Books
$186.60 Details
New Title Highlights 2018 - Collection - BMI Bound
H1412 | 20 Books
$269.11 Details
New Title Highlights 2018 - Collection - BMI Bound
H1412 | 20 Books
$269.11 Details

Ask us about our Custom Book Lists. We can coordinate collections based
on interest, reading level, state standards, and more.

Write a Review

 






Customer Reviews


Proud member of these professional organizations… NCTE International Literacy Association
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ
Processing