FREE Shipping on orders over $60 | 25% off all items | 30% off orders over $1000 | 35% off orders over $2500

Paperboy

by Vince Vawter
| Item # Q6645
Paperboy Q6645
Format: Paperback
$7.99 $5.99 Save $2.00
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ

Description

*"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird." --"Booklist, " Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again" This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, "The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life. A Newbery Honor Award WinnerAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's BookAn IRA Children's and Young Adults' ChoiceAn IRA Teachers' ChoiceA Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the YearA National Parenting Publications Award Honor BookA "BookPage" Best Children's BookAn ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild SelectionAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's RecordingAn ALA-YALSA Amazing AudiobookA Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection " Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" --"The Washington Post" "Paperboy" offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America *" A] tense, memorable story." --"Publishers Weekly, "Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." --"Kirkus Reviews" "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult w

Product Information

  • AR Level5.1
  • AR Quiz Number158356
  • AR Quiz Points8
  • AuthorVince Vawter
  • Guided Reading LevelZ
  • Page Count256
  • ISBN10030793151X
  • ISBN139780307931511
  • PublisherRandom House Children's Books
  • Year Published2014
  • Grade Level5
  • Type of BookFiction
  • SubjectGeneral fiction (Children's/YA)
    General fiction (Children's/YA)
  • Lexile Level940
  • ImprintYearling

This book is part of these Book Collections

Our school reading collections supply a comprehensive assortment of titles that are perfect for adding depth to classrooms and school libraries.

Cool New Reads - Collection
D1070 | 10 Books
$62.18 Details
Cool New Reads - Collection - BMI Bound
H1070 | 10 Books
$117.18 Details

Ask us about our Custom Book Lists. We can coordinate collections based
on interest, reading level, state standards, and more.

Write a Review

 






Customer Reviews


Proud member of these professional organizations… NCTE International Literacy Association
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ
Processing