FREE Shipping on orders over $60 | 25% off all items | 30% off orders over $1000 | 35% off orders over $2500

Green Bicycle

by Haifaa Al Mansour
| Item # Q7206
Green Bicycle Q7206
Format: Paperback
$8.99 $6.74 Save $2.25
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ

Description

In the vein of Year of the Dog and The Higher Power of Lucky , this Middle Eastern coming-of-age story is told with warmth, spirit, and a mischievous sense of humor Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She desperately wants a bicycle so that she can race her friend Abdullah, even though it is considered improper for girls to ride bikes. Wadjda earns money for her dream bike by selling homemade bracelets and mixtapes of banned music to her classmates. But after she's caught, she's forced to turn over a new leaf (sort of), or risk expulsion from school. Still, Wadjda keeps scheming, and with the bicycle so closely in her sights, she will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Set against the shifting social attitudes of the Middle East, The Green Bicycle explores gender roles, conformity, and the importance of family, all with wit and irresistible heart.

Product Information

  • AuthorHaifaa Al Mansour
  • Page Count368
  • ISBN100147515033
  • ISBN139780147515032
  • PublisherPenguin Random House
  • Year Published2016
  • Grade Level5
  • Type of BookFiction
  • SubjectN/A

Write a Review

 






Customer Reviews


Proud member of these professional organizations… NCTE International Literacy Association
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ
Processing