FREE Shipping on orders over $60 | 25% off all items | 30% off orders over $1000 | 35% off orders over $2500

Joy Luck Club

by Amy Tan
| Item # Q352
Joy Luck Club Q352
Format: Paperback
$16.00 $12.00 Save $4.00
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ

Description

For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, "The Valley of Amazement," revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue.With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

Product Information

  • AR Level5.7
  • AR Quiz Number7111
  • AR Quiz Points14
  • AuthorAmy Tan
  • Page Count288
  • ISBN100143038095
  • ISBN139780143038092
  • PublisherPenguin Publishing Group
  • Year Published2006
  • Grade Level12
  • Type of BookFiction
  • SubjectModern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
    Fiction & related items
  • Lexile Level930

Related Items

To add related items to your cart, check each of the formats that you want in the list below then click the "Add Selected Items to Cart" button at the bottom of the list.

$492.71 E5428
$252.71 E2400
$372.71 E2401
$132.71 E2399
$14.96 P8944
$11.96 Q3174
$14.96 P4909
$9.99 P8311
$9.74 P4404
$12.71 P4846
$12.71 EB3127
$10.49 P4425
Total: $0.00

This book is part of these Book Collections

Our school reading collections supply a comprehensive assortment of titles that are perfect for adding depth to classrooms and school libraries.

Asian Perspective - Collection
D78 | 15 Books
$126.60 Details
Asian Perspective - Collection - BMI Bound
H78 | 15 Books
$209.11 Details
Classics, Old And New - Collection
D849 | 22 Books
$173.72 Details
Classics, Old And New - Collection - BMI Bound
H849 | 22 Books
$282.00 Details
Common Core Grade 11 Collection (Literary Texts) - BMI Bound
HCC11 | 40 Books
$533.48 Details
Common Core Grade 11 Collection (Literature)
CC11 | 40 Books
$337.55 Details
Grades 9-10 Common Core Text Exemplars Collection - Literature (Stories, Drama and Poetry)
CC122 | 12 Books
$113.07 Details
Grades 9-10 Common Core Text Exemplars Collection - Literature (Stories, Drama and Poetry) - BMI Bound
HCC122 | 12 Books
$179.08 Details
TV and Movie Tie-Ins II - Collection
D38 | 14 Books
$110.18 Details
TV and Movie Tie-Ins II - Collection - BMI Bound
H38 | 14 Books
$182.36 Details

Ask us about our Custom Book Lists. We can coordinate collections based
on interest, reading level, state standards, and more.

Write a Review

 






Customer Reviews


Proud member of these professional organizations… NCTE International Literacy Association
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams BMI Educational Services Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Books - New in Dayton NJ
Processing